The curiosities you may not know about the Australian Open

In these days the first Grand Slam of 2022 began, it is the Australian Open. The fame of the tournament is really deserved, daughter of an event kissed by the Australian summer, immersed in the greenery of a beautiful, livable and cosmopolitan city, where you can move even on foot without stress. 

"Down under" the welcome is warm and relaxed, the public enthusiastic and competent, all ideal ingredients for a top-level tournament. 

We launch the first seasonal Slam telling some curiosities about Australian Open, including history, innovations and records.

Getty Images
The Australian Open is the latest Slam
Among the four Slam, the Australian Open is the one born later. The first edition took place in November 1905 at the Warehouseman's Cricket Ground of Melbourne, which later became Albert Reserve Tennis Centre. He was born several years after the birth of Wimbledon (1877), US Open (1881) and Roland Garros (1891). The first "down under " title was won by Rodney Heath, while the first champion was Margaret Molesworth in 1922.
Getty Images
It was also played in New Zealand
The most important tournament in the southern hemisphere began as a The Australasian Championships in 1905, then became The Australian Championships in 1927 and kept this name until 1969, when it was definitively renamed to Australian Open. In its history it has been hosted in five Australian and two New Zealand cities: Melbourne (55 editions), Sydney (17), Adelaide (14), Brisbane (7), Perth (3) in Australia; Christchurch (1906) and Hastings (1912) in New Zealand.
Getty Images
Two editions in the same year
The Australian Open 's scheduled location has undergone several changes, looking for a moment in the austral summer that would not discourage the northern hemisphere champions from facing the long trip. Just a change of date led to a double edition in 1977: that of January (won by Roscoe Tanner) and then another in December, with the success of Vitas Gerulaitis.
Getty Images
The longest final
The longest final in the history of the tournament was that of 2012, won by Djokovic against Nadal in almost 6 hours (5 hours and 53 minutes).
Rod Laver Arena flooded
In recent years the Australian summer is increasingly hot, but sometimes violent storms hit Melbourne, sending even the most efficient structures into a tailspin. This is what happened in the 1995 edition, when a real flood struck the city and did not spare the Rod Laver Arena.
Getty Images
Djokovic and Nadal domain
Novak Djokovic (nine) and Rafael Nadal (six) have won 15 of the last 18 Grand Slam tournaments, the only exceptions Dominic Thiem in 2020, Daniil Medvedev in 2021 and Carlos Alcaraz in 2022.
Getty Images
Medvedev chasing a third final
Daniil Medvedev could become the fifth male player of the Open era to reach three consecutive finals in Australian Open after Guillermo Vilas (1977-1979), Ivan Lendl (1989-1991), Mats Wilander (1983-1985) and Novak Djokovic (2011-2013 and 2019-2021).
Informativa ai sensi della Direttiva 2009/136/CE: questo sito utilizza solo cookie tecnici necessari alla navigazione da parte dell'utente in assenza dei quali il sito non potrebbe funzionare correttamente.